Section 2.—The Development of the Constitution since Confederation

An article bringing the developments since Confederation up to 1943 is published at pp. 41-47 of the 1943-44 Year Book. See also list of Special Articles under "Constitution and Government" at the beginning of this volume.

Section 3.—The Terms of Union of Newfoundland with Canada, 1949*

An article on the Constitutional Development of Newfoundland prior to Union with Canada appeared at pp. 85-92 of the 1950 Year Book.

In 1948, two national referenda were held in Newfoundland to decide the future form of government. At the second ballot, held on July 22, Confederation with Canada received 78,323 votes and the restoration of responsible government 71,334 votes. Eighteen of the 25 electoral districts as established in 1933 showed a clear majority for Confederation. On July 30, the Prime Minister of Canada announced that the result of the referendum was "clear and beyond possibility of misunderstanding" He said that the Government of Canada would be "glad to receive with the least possible delay authorized representatives of Newfoundland" to negotiate Terms of Union.

Negotiations opened at Ottawa on Oct. 6, 1948, and the Terms of Union were signed on Dec. 11, 1948. An Act to approve the Terms was passed by the Parliament of Canada on Feb. 18, 1949 (13 Geo. VI., c. 1). The Commission of Government of Newfoundland announced its approval on Feb. 21 and shortly afterwards a Bill to confirm and give effect to the Terms of Union was introduced in the British House of Commons and became law on Mar. 23 as the British North America Act, 1949. In accordance with the Terms, Newfoundland joined Canada as its tenth province at midnight on Mar. 31, 1949.

Under the Terms of Union, the Province of Newfoundland comprises the same territory as at the date of union with Canada and includes the Island of Newfoundland and islands adjacent thereto, and the Coast of Labrador as delimited by the Judicial Committee of the Imperial Privy Council in March, 1927.

The British North America Acts, 1867 to 1946, except for such provisions as affect only one or more and not all the provinces, and the Statute of Westminster, 1931, apply to the Province of Newfoundland in the same way as they apply to the other provinces of Canada.

Representation in Parliament.—The Province is entitled to be represented by six members in the Senate and seven members in the House of Commons with readjustment from time to time (see p. 66, re distribution) in accordance with the British North America Acts and amendments.

For the constitution of the Provincial Government of Newfoundland after Union see pp. 83 to 84.

Financial Terms.—Under the Terms of Union, Canada assumes and provides for the servicing and retirement of stock issued on the security of Newfoundland under the Loan's Act, 1933, and takes over the sinking fund established under that

^{*}Prepared under the direction of A. D. P. Heeney, Under-Secretary of State, Department of External Affairs.